2011: Transformation

Standard

Hurrah! It is the first day of the year and it is New year’s resolution time again! Haha! But I want mine to be more realistic, possible, and more achievable. So I have this short list of the things I want to do this year. (I kept it short so that it would be more possible for me to achieve it. Hehe) I have always been a planner and listing down these things is quite my habit. This is kinda my wish list, too. So here it goes:

* volunteer in a shelter for kids (I’m excited about this outreach activity in church and I’ll gather up the courage to ask the shelter if I could have storytelling sessions with the kids after our visit.)

*join another Caring Group in church

*attend the feast in PICC

*attend the Kerygma conference

*travel to at least two beautiful places (I already booked a flight to Coron and I’m planning to go to Anawangin, too.)

*write/submit a travelogue (Since I get the chance to travel, why not write about them, eh?)

*keep my blog updated and write about good things in the world (positive vibes!)

*read at least 6 books (of classics and contemporaries)

*stay healthy and don’t forget to take my meds

*save up for my Master’s degree

*try to get a car loan for dad (because he’s been wanting to have a car)

*get a driver’s license (I would have to, if dad would buy a car.)

*achieve the proficiency status at work

*get a new haircut/hairstyle (But I haven’t decided yet if I would dye my hair, cut it short, keep it long, make it straight, have a side-swept bangs or whatever. What do you think? Hehe)

*get a new phone (which is I really need because my phone is already giving up on me)

*get a henna tattoo (I’ve been wanting this for the longest time, but my skin is too maarte so I’m wary of having allergies whatsoever.)

*fall in love again (which is least of my concerns. Hehe. But yeah, that would be nice.)

~*~*~*~*~*

In a more serious tone…

If 2010 brought about changes in my life, I want my 2011 to be my transformation. Like everyone who had a great fall, I want to stand up again and face the world as a new and better person.  May it be a total makeover or an overhaul of character, I am willing to improve myself.  I want to put back the pieces together and be that strong and loving person again.

This reminds me of one activity that we had in the Pasig feast (where I often attend mass and worship, which would be my topic in this blog one of these days). We were asked to write down our wish list as an offering to the Lord. It is like our gifts and promises so that we would be in likeness with Him. I just wrote down 3 things: love myself more, love others more, and serve the community. So these 3 things kinda sum up the list that I did above. I believe that these 3 things go hand in hand. If I would love myself more, that love would transcend to other people and to the whole community at large, and vice versa. The love that I would give out and share to the others would be the same love that would come back to me. And this love will fuel the transformation that I want to have in 2011. And as I undergo transformation, I want to lift up these desires of my heart to the Lord. He has given me another chance, another year so why not make the most out of it and change for the better, eh? 😉

~*~*~*~*~*
I have always liked the verse below. It stirs up so much hope in me everytime I read it. So I would like to share this to you. Take time to reflect and be inspired too! 😉

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

For everything there is a season,
And a time for every matter under heaven:
A time to be born, and a time to die;
A time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted;
A time to kill, and a time to heal;
A time to break down, and a time to build up;
A time to weep, and a time to laugh;
A time to mourn, and a time to dance;
A time to throw away stones, and a time to gather stones together;
A time to embrace, And a time to refrain from embracing;
A time to seek, and a time to lose;
A time to keep, and a time to throw away;
A time to tear, and a time to sew;
A time to keep silence, and a time to speak;
A time to love, and a time to hate,
A time for war, and a time for peace.

3 responses »

Leave a comment