poems

Standard

Go to fullsize image 

“nagtatae ang ballpen ko at binabasa mo ang basurahan…” – bob ong

************************************

Twilight Drama

 

The drizzle washed off the colors

And a faint light was left

Enough for a young man to see

His wet and muddy track

Where many cars and jeepneys raced

To bring home passengers

Who were tired battling with school work

And wanted to reach heaven

Where they could lay on their cushion,

Doze off after dinner.

 

The drizzle washed off the colors

And a faint light was left

‘Twas peeping behind the branches

Of an old acacia.

Under its misty canopy,

Lads flocked to grab a bite

Around manong’s hot gridiron

Where his famous street food,

Lit by a bright orange lamp light

For the poor juveniles.

 

The drizzle washed off the colors

And a faint light was left.

I could see my messy table

With piles of books on top.

I saw pictures of smiles and frowns,

Brought me to nostalgia

The smell of chicken adobo

Reminded me of her

And the clang of the utensils

In our humble abode.

 – July 27, 2006

 **********************

Sunken

 

The bright sun rays

Passing through my window

Are enticing me

To get out

Of the shell

I have been hiding

They are winning

My feet are now moving

Taking me there

Slow and hesitant

To that renowned place

 

In Bowl of Grass

A family of three

Is sitting down

A young lady

Is lying down

Teenagers are playing soccer

Kicking the ball

Here and there, all over

Two cute children

Are running around

Dancing with the breeze

 

The cool morning air

Is kissing my cheeks

The acacia tree

Is looking down

And wondering why

I am here

Looking at the sky

Wishing…

Waiting…

–  January 20, 2006

 ********************

Four Ways of Looking at a Clock

I

My heart leaps

As the clock ticks

My eyes sway

As its hands twirl

Every second

Step by step

From one to twelve

II

Five fingers lie

In between mine

I want to hold

The clock’s three hands

Along with his

And grip them tight

To make them one

III

At six o’clock

Two arrows point

Two different paths

And lovers go

On separate ways

The boy heads north

The girl down south

IV

The clock’s hands

Are moving

Beneath the snow

Under the rain

Against the tide

Howl of the wind

All day and night

I’m still counting

Every second

Every minute

Every hour

Everyday

– July 27, 2007

*********************

Time of love has lapsed

 

I am deafened by the whispers of love.

His lips have kissed away my frowns and smiles.

 The nightingales have not reached the notes above.

The poems I write have no rhythm and rhymes.

My red roses have not bloomed and have waned.

The fire has melt away my devotion,

And the ashes were blown by the strong wind.

Time has lapsed and my clock has stopped ticking.

 The church bells have stopped ringing in my head.

I’m still solitary while vanishing.

Nostalgia has lied me down in this bed.

I can’t breathe; it has strangled me to death.

– Aug 28, 2007

*********************

Tug-of-war

 

You moved away from me

And I needed to agree

You told me it was for my own good

I told you it was for us both

But I fell to the ground

Without you around

I wished you’d pick me up

But you didn’t even prop

So I forced myself to stand

On my own, so bland

I managed for sometime

But I did a stupid crime

I pulled you towards me

And held on foolishly

You pulled me back

Like we were still intact

But damn, I was so blind

You were just being kind

So I tried to let go

Like you always do

I walked away

And did not want to stay

 

Until I saw you

After months of being blue

 

Now, here we go again

I don’t know if I can

Still play this game

‘Cause it’s still the same

You push

I pull…

– Feb 4, 2008

*****************

Sound trip

 

When I cover my ears

I hear them:

 

The twang of the guitar

Cries pain

Its strings are my veins

Each plucking aches

 

The pounding of the drums

Smashes hope

The tremor whips

My heart shatters

 

The growl of the vocals

Screams anger

The words stab

I bleed

 

When I cover my ears

I hear them

The piercing sounds

Hush the voice that says:

“I love you”

 

March 26, 2008

 *******************

 Luna

 

You’re a pearl amidst the ocean of clouds

That I try to possess with every plunge

But I am blinded by your silver glow

And your round face illuminates my soul.

As I bathe under your light, madness flows

Every tide of passion keeps me afloat

You shower me with mem’ries of the past

That I thought have long been sunk and awashed.

In the vastness of the sky, I am drowned

With reminiscence drifting in my mind

But you, my love, breathe new life to me so

Please don’t wane in the abyss of the dark.

– May 23, 2008

********************

TENSION OF OPPOSITES

I want to see you
     But I don’t want to look into your eyes

I want to listen to you
     But I don’t want to hear your voice

I want to talk to you
     But I don’t want to say anything

I want to remember you
     But I don’t want to think about you

I want to hold you tight
     But I don’t want to touch you

I want to be close to you
     But I don’t want to be near you

I want you
    But I don’t need you 

I love you
   BUT…
 
 

 

– July 26, 2008

********

Leave a comment