Daily Archives: May 9, 2011

Holding Hands

Standard

Many of my friends are going through some rough patch in their lives right now. And I just want to share my thoughts, hoping these will make them feel better. Hugs to them all! >:D<

One of the reasons of unhappiness is expectation, too much of this even. We expect other people to treat us right, because we feel we give more to them and they don’t give it back. We feel that we care for them more, we love them more, we do more things, we exert more efforts.  And then we feel that even though our love for them is all-out, we feel that they give less. We feel that our love is not reciprocated. We tend to quantify. But it is really not 1:1 ratio. It is not   a≤b or a≥b, nor a = b. Let’s face the truth, sometimes it’s a≠ b. (Math, nosebleed. Haha!) Because those people that we love and care about are imperfect as we are. They can make us feel disappointed, neglected, and used, the same way that we can do to other people as well, without us knowing it. I think the message here is people can and will fail us. Even our own parents, our friends, our special someone, our bosses, our co-workers, our teachers, our classmates, everyone will break our hearts. But we just have to be more understanding and more loving despite of. Those people who understand better give way. Those people who love deeply give in. But yes, not all the time. When it is obvious that the person you’re dealing with is greedy, selfish, schemy,  abusive, and “vampires”  in more ways than one, then, that is the time to tell yourself “wait a minute, this person does not deserve my love and understanding anymore.” But you don’t walk out just like that. Before you storm out the door, make sure that you air out how you feel and make the person understand why you will leave for a while. Give your “last words” so that when the time comes that this person comes to his or her senses and becomes enlightened, he or she will remember what you said and who knows, he or she might thank you for those hurtful but helpful words.

I believe that everything is resolved through dialogues, may it be talking to yourself, talking to other people, or talking to God. I believe that feelings should be released through words to bring the message across. I believe that whatever it is in our hearts should be spoken, written, or communicated for it to be recognized, interpreted, analyzed, understood, and valued. Thank God for Facebook status, blogs, Twitter, or any form of sending a message. I, for one, benefit from these. I even call my Twitter account my “emo trashcan for word vomit.” So, you see, it’s better to let those negative emotions out. (Or even positive emotions, like what I’m doing to send my good vibes to you, who’s reading this. Hehe.) In fact, I’ve read (from Kerygma and from Bo Sanchez and other preachers in the Feast) that most people who have cancer or who have even simple illnesses are depressive. They are depressed, because they choose not to express. They keep it all inside and their tendency, sadly, is to  hit the ‘self-destruct’ button.  What are words for? What is listening for? What is talking for? What is counselling for?

And I’m the type of person who is saddened by this human nature, especially when this is happening to my friends. So as much as possible, I encourage them and give them hope. I am beginning to realize that maybe my mission in this world is like the “lamplighter.” Maybe God has called me to shine a light to those who are in the dark. Maybe God has given me the positive vibes and the sunshiney disposition to carry others and guide them towards Him, whom, I believe, is the source of our happiness. After what I’ve been through, I am now happy with the Lord. I am lucky, because He lets me stay with him. He and I are together romantically. (Hehe. <3) And as His beloved, I believe that I should share this love and happiness to other people. I believe I should hold their hands and walk them through and with the Lord. 😉


So to my friends and those people who need my “light,” let me hold your hand. Walk with me and with the Lord. You’re never alone. So put a smile on your face and say “I’ll get through, because God is my hope and my strength. God will help me understand and love other people more. He will carry me through it all. I put my trust unto the Lord, our God.” 🙂