Daily Archives: May 30, 2011

BUSY

Standard

With a 9-6 Monday to Friday desk job, two part-time editing jobs, volunteer work and church activities on weekends, sleepovers with friends, out of town trips with family and friends, debating with the new guy about religion during work hours and even after work, reading articles on the Internet and watching TV just to be updated, listening to the radio to calm my nerves, doing my laundry, cleaning the house, and worrying what to eat and cook for myself everyday,  how the hell can you still invade my thoughts? You see, I still have to write about the outreach activity at Grace to Born, Pasig I went to last May 22 and the family outing we had last May 28, but why do I write about you first? Aren’t my Facebook and Twitter statuses enough? Argh! I’m too busy forgetting you. Kthnxbye.

D.I.V.E. at White Rock, Subic

Standard

Last May 14, our company was so generous to take us, hardworking 😉 employees, to Whiterock Waterpark and Beach Hotel in Subic, Zambales for our summer outing. The events committee dubbed it as D.I.V.E., which stands for Discover, Indulge, Value, and Enjoy. Aside from relaxation, the event was an avenue for us to mingle and get to know the other employees in the company through the activities and contests. So, we were divided into big teams, composed of members from different departments and teams in the office. I was assigned to the Yellow Team. And boy, we were so competitive!

Because the earliest departure of the teams was part of the competition, our team left the office at around 6am. The trip took us 3 to 4 hours from Manila to Subic. But I did not feel the passing of the time, because I was busy preparing the props for the cheering competition, which is the first activity upon setting our foot in Subic. We were also practicing the yell on our way to the venue. I think we arrived at White Park at around 10 am. And a little before 11, the program started.

And let’s skip the cheering competition, because it was one of my embarrassing moments. Because of that incident, I vowed not to be lifted in front of our big bosses and officemates ever again. Haha! Moving on… The other activities included tug of war, obstacle relay, and amazing race. I was dragged to participate in the obstacle relay. And it was worthit, because we won the game! And at the end of the whole event, even though our team appeared as the underdogs, we emerged and claimed our victory as the second place!

Go Team Dilaw!

After the games, it was only the time that we explored the place. Whiterock Waterpark and Beach Hotel has several amenities that include the beach, wave pools, giant slides, among others. And now, let the pictures do the talking…

 Beach Landscape 

Beyond the Coco Trees

Known Paradise

Come, Lay, Rest for a While

Blinding Light

I tried kayaking. I did not know how to paddle at first, but I got it later on. I just remembered what Kuya Manong said that when I want to turn left, I have to paddle on my right. And when I want to turn right, I have to paddle on my left.  And it was fun!

And here’s the pool.

I also tried the great slide. I admit that I am scared of heights and the giant slide scared the hell out of me. But I was in the mood to be adventurous, so I just closed my eyes as I slid down.

 It was a matter of seconds…

and splash!

There are other slides in the resort, but I had to pass, because I do not want to faint after. Haha! 🙂

We went home around 5pm. But because it was a 4-hour trip, I got home at around 9pm. 

Overall, our summer outing was tiring, but awesome. It was a break from work. And after the event, I gained some acquiantances. If before, the number of people whom I greet on the hallway, pantry, and even on my way to my workstation were only a handful, now, I can include my toes in the counting! Haha! 🙂

Da, me, and Isa